summer books: The Death Cure

07/11/2012 § Leave a comment

TitleThe Death Cure
Author: James Dashner
Genre: Young Adult, Adventure, Apocalyptic
General Review: You know, if you’re into anything even remotely “cool,” then you need to read this.
Summary: Thomas knows that Wicked can’t be trusted, but they say the time for lies is over, that they’ve collected all they can from the Trials and now must rely on the Gladers, with full memories restored, to help them with their ultimate mission. It’s up to the Gladers to complete the blueprint for the cure to the Flare with a final voluntary test. What Wicked doesn’t know is that something’s happened that no Trial or Variable could have foreseen. Thomas has remembered far more than they think. And he knows that he can’t believe a word of what Wicked says. The time for lies is over. But the truth is more dangerous than Thomas could ever imagine. Will anyone survive the Death Cure?

Note: I also wrote this one in between June and July.

As noted on the novel’s cover above, The Death Cure is the final installation of The Maze Runner Trilogy, and frankly, the first two books were wicked (no pun intended, for all those who’ve read the trilogy), filled with a heck of a lot of blood, gore, running and action, but also loads of plot plot plot.

Going to try and keep this short and simple because I realize long, long reviews aren’t my thing after all: I love this series and I thought this final book was a great ending. They killed off my favorite characters, which is the sign – for me – of a good book. The way they killed off those characters was flawlessly done and though our main character, Thomas, is bombarded with infinite feelings and emotions because of the deaths, well, so are we, and it just adds to the intensity of the book.

Plot – I’m not even going to start with the plot because trying to explain the first two books to my friend was hard enough. All you need to know is: apocalypse, mad people, evil organizations, and Hunger Games fourteen times over. Also, Katniss is a guy.

I’ll repeat myself. I loved this series. I LOVED this series. This is my kind of series. The writing was intelligent and simple and the story is to die for. It’s not focused on Romance, it’s focused on teenagers and survival and what it means to be human and strong. Yep, my kind of story.

Unfortunately, the trilogy is now over but! Have no fear, James Dashner is here! He’s releasing a prequel to the entire trilogy called The Killer Order, which will probably focus on WICKED and Thomas’s life before book one and the whole Maze ordeal. Um, wow. That is literally all the Dashner army needs to be satisfied. The first trilogy was fabulous; this prequel will be fantastic, I just know it.

Oh, but I’m not done – there’s a movie in the making for this book. Usually I’m so-so when books are turned into movies but hey, the Hunger Games turned out alright with Suzanna Collins taking up the scripting. If James Dashner scripts for the live-action film, things just might end up all right and not at all klunky like other book-based movies (cough cough does Twilight ring a bell? cough cough).

Welp, I’ll miss this series for now, thankfully the new book is coming out in just a month, and as long as I have the books in my possession, I’ll be satisfied. I think I’ll have to read this series every year. For me, it’s that good. Talk about jaw-dropping and gasp-inducing, huh?

Tagged: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading summer books: The Death Cure at i am so.

meta

