Counter Ad [Blog Post #9] — Evaluate

01/03/2011 § Leave a comment

After finishing the final product that is this Nivea advertisement girl, I feel like I really used the tools quite effectively during this project and applied ideas of mental and physical health into the final product all the while. I was able to change her face completely and also change almost all of the text on the page, even managing to get onto the product images. Although there are a few mistakes and I’m sure that the manipulation of this ad isn’t exactly one of the best out there, I do think that it has some effect on the ideas of the original ad.  I wanted to change the feel of the original advertisement from supporting using all types of cream to cover up your natural skin tone to turning people away from buying creams spontaneously. As to how easily I manipulated the graphic advertisement, I’d say that the process wasn’t exactly hard but it wasn’t easy, either.

In all honesty, I made multiple changes in my plan. This isn’t necessarily a bad thing because the order of steps that I did take for this project produced a final image that was better than what the original method would have made. I think that if I had tried to warp the girl, the font could have been a bit bothered and I may have had a harder time smudging and blending colours. Also, I actually had a lot of fun using the smudge tool because it’s such a useful option. Because I was fond of Smudge, I used it a lot and that usually led to me straying away from my original plan and simply doing what I felt was right for the image.

I found that I made a terrible mistake after I finished posting my last Create post. On the original ad, the first set of words read:

BOOST your skin’s own ability
TO PROTECT ITSELF
from environment stress and damage

and in the manipulated and edited ad, the first set of words read:

BOOST your own naïvety
and EXPOSE YOURSELF

But I realised that I missed the last line only after I’d finished manipulating everything. I’d intended to write: “Boost your own naïvety and expos yourself to environmental stress and damage” or something along those lines. Gimp doesn’t allow me to go back to a file and find all the layers there waiting for me so I didn’t know how to fix the font. I couldn’t move the words around to fit one more line so I at first didn’t know what to do. Eventually I settled on leaving the font as it was because it made a bit of sense anyway (without the ‘to environmental stress and damage’ part).

I thought I improvised really well when I manipulated the ad. The missing tooth/tooth gap was a completely out-of-the-blue idea (courtesy of my older brother). The “All Around Lies” was also a random idea that seemed to match the requirements of the final product. The yellow sparks on her face was something I found on Gimp and I felt that yellow sparks would look like a disease, or a (really) bad rash or just pimples or acne that would emphasise what could happen if a teenager (or if anyone) uses facial creams carelessly.

All in all, I faced no major problems with Gimp and with manipulating my ad. I’d added some steps in the middle of the whole process and switched around some of the original steps but the final product ended up to be pretty good, anyway. I could find my way around Gimp and solve any minor problems I had with covering font, smudging the and blending the right colour, adding text, etc.

What I thought was most troubling about the original ad was that it sounded too good to be true. The advertisers were clever about what they put and how they arranged the Nivea advertisement. They worded their text properly by inserting the words natural/environment/protect/powerful and so on. They didn’t choose a drop-dead, take-your-breath-away gorgeous model and chose a girl who had a simple and natural kind of beauty. They also chose their colours well because blue gives off a relaxing feel and is a refreshing and calming colour. If the colour was something sharper like bright red or bright purple, the ad wouldn’t have worked as well. Considering everything together, the ad was well put together and was a bit difficult to tackle at first.

After manipulating the ad, I made the girl look a little less perfect by getting rid of that glow and changing the text to reveal what could possibly happen if a customer just randomly buys a facial cream that sounds like it’s magnificent addition to your bathroom because it’ll protect your skin from environmental stress and damage. The ad may have been clever but the main idea is still the same. If you’re unhappy with your skin, if you think your skin’s still not strong enough and not good enough for you, then buy Nivea’s new product: All Around Protection. No matter what the company or what the advertisers do to make the ad sound honest, clear and not-intending-to-just-take-your-money, the idea and appeal is still for an audience that isn’t happy with who they are.

I think, taking into account the newly manipulated girl and the text, that the effect of my version of the ad brings out the truth a bit more. I start off the text with “Unhappy with who you are? Unsatisfied with your skin?” because that’s the truth! People who buy facial creams are unhappy with their skin, some more so than others. I think my version of this advertisement tells the truth and depicts some of the risky consequences that can sometimes happen when using facial creams.

Original & Final :: Before & After

 

[edit: the manipulated ad doesn’t seem to be showing up so here is a direct screen shot again:

]

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Counter Ad [Blog Post #9] — Evaluate at i am so.

meta

